Game Design. Yeah, Digital Design Students Can Do That!

Screenshot of A Brother's Tale

First of all, “Hi!”

I’m Levi. Originally from Hungary. A gaming fanatic. And in the process of creating an awesome side-scrolling game for my graduate project.

Some background. I completed a four year CompSci degree but wanted to deepen my creative skills so I could pursue a career in the gaming industry. I was torn between Game Design and Digital Design. Both programs are great. But, in the end, I took Digital Design because I could learn more about user interface design and have skills that would allow me to work in console, PC or social gaming.

Enough about that. Let’s talk about the game I’m building — A Brother’s Tale.

Where to start? Well, some of the key ingredients you need to build a game are:

• Programming knowledge (I have a bit: C++, C#, .NET, PHP, JAVA, JavaScript, AS3, Python.) Most of those programs, though, I haven’t touched in years.
  • An Idea! (You know, that sparkly thing floating in your mind.)
  • Determination. (Do IT!)
  • Sweat and blood.
  • A love of games. (If you’re a hardcore player like myself, that helps a lot.)

So equipped with these in term 3, I still had no clue what I wanted to do for my grad project. My first idea was to dust off and polish up one of my old projects. Guess what? It’s a game! Back in the day, I made a tower defense AS3 Flash game. Never finished it. It’s one of my many unfinished projects that I’ve done just for fun. But this seemed like the easy way out. Then, I came up with a really good game idea. I started to concept it further and sketch it out and… Turned out it’s too close to angry birds. So I ditched it. No problem, let’s see what else it out there!