What’s it Like Working in Dubai?

Camping in the Desert
Camping in the Desert

Some of you know this already, but 12 months at VFS in the Digital Design program is intense. In fact, it’s much like working abroad for the first time. Some days you wonder why you did it in the first place. Was this a mistake? Am I really cut out for this? I don’t know what I’m doing. Everybody is so different. There is always too much to do and not enough time to do it. Every day new challenges coming at you faster than it seems you can process.

After graduating from the Digital Design program at VFS in April 2010 I decided to start a new adventure and work overseas. I am a Digital Designer currently working at Leo Burnett Mena in Dubai. This is a far cry from the small town where I grew up in northern Manitoba.

Some interesting facts about Dubai… It’s hot in summer, really hot, like you CAN fry an egg on the pavement kind of hot. But winter weather rocks. Being a Muslim country, they celebrate events like Ramadan and Eid al-Adha. The currency is Dirhams. Weekends here are Friday and Saturday. It’s a great place from which to travel to other places as it’s so central. It’s very multicultural. Luxury cars are the norm here. So is reckless driving. There is a mall with an indoor ski hill that I have not yet tried. But I have been to the top of the Burj Khalifa, had tea at the Burj Al Arab, and been camping in the desert.

Tea at the Burj Al Arab
Tea at the Burj Al Arab
Ski Dubai (Indoor Ski Resort) & A Bugatti Dealership
Ski Dubai (Indoor Ski Resort) & A Bugatti Dealership

I would like to share a few things I’ve learnt while working abroad for any of you readers thinking of doing the same.

MAD WOMAN