SLAM : Whoa! Nellie

Slide for Dgital Design Slam Juy 20 2012

Today, the Summer Intensive students joined with the rest of Digital Design students and Foundation students to participate in SLAM, a regular event at VFS that places students into teams to compete against each other by creating a campaign for an actual client. This time the client is Vancouver Bike Shop Whoa! Nellie.

Slide describing the Target Audience

Brainstorming Slide

The students broke up into teams and brainstormed for an hour or so and then came back to pitch their ideas. It’s amazing what dedicated and motivated students can come up with in such a short time! There’s no doubt that Whoa! Nellie owner Chris Quine is going to be impressed!

Mood Board for Team Campaign Whoa! Nellie

Mood Board Bike Lovers Whoa! Nellie Campaign

Mood Board for Team Campaign Whoa! Nellie 02

After feedback was given from Senior Instructors Myron Campbell and Kyle Norby, the student designers went off to spend their afternoon doing production.

Shot of Students in Production

Once they were finished their production, the SLAM participants congregated back in the Main Theatre to present their work to judging panel, made up of owner, Chris Quine, yours truly, and Senior Instructors Myron Campbell and Kyle Norby. The eight teams had only 5 or so minutes to show and sell their concept, campaign ideas and their Motion Graphic piece.

And The Winners Are:

Top Gear (Tech + Aesthetic) went to Team Bunny Hop (Fernanda Herrera, Luz Esterada, Smiley Chiang, Robert Huynh, Pamela Taylor, Melissa Alvaro)

Team Bunny Hop Top Gear winners

Best Strategic Vision (Creative Direction) went to Team Basket Case (Colin Roberts, Andy Kang, Ryan Ali, Cristina Bucardo, Mehdi Nowroozi, Jimena Silva, Dylan Hageman)

Team Basketcase Strategic Vision winners

Teamwork Best Synergy went to Team Training Wheels (Ricard Adrianza, Larissa Wilcock, Simba Sim, Stephanie Bailis, Jona Casper, David Duncan)

Team Training Wheels Best Synergy winners

People’s Choice Whoaaa! went to Team Road Rash (Ashley Hawkins, David Navarro, Gary Duong, Tiffany Fan, Sebastion Aboud, Adrien Nichol)

Team Road Rash Whoaaa! winners

Congratulations to all the participants for their great energy and hard work! Amazing!

Leave Comments