Salazar Awards 2016

Congratulations to Ignacio Flórez for winning a Salazar Award last night in the Video & Motion category for his project, Foxy Matter, a title sequence for a fictional animated movie. He was presented with a cash prize and an award certificate. Ignacio follows in the footsteps of a long list of VFS Digital Design graduates who have won this award. The Salazar Awards are presented by the British Columbia Mainland Chapter of The Society of Graphic Designers of Canada (GDC/BC) and founding sponsor Metropolitan Fine Printers to promote the work of students from design programs in BC. Hanna Cortés was named a finalist and honourable mentions were also given to Adriana Ogarrio and Jay Lee for their motion design projects.

Congratulations to everyone!

The evening also included a panel discussion, moderated by Johnathon Vaughn Strebly, President of GDC/BC, between Roy White (Subplot Design), Nancy Wu (Nancy Wu Design) and Katie Maasik (Lululemon) addressing topics related to agency, freelance and in-house design career opportunities.

Big Wins at the 2011 Salazar Awards

The Salazar Awards are handed out every year by the Society of Graphic Designers of Canada (BC), and recognize the best in student design work for that year. This year, VFS Digital Design students walked away with two of the major awards and an Honourable Mention in the Motion Design and Interactive categories.

Kim Oxlund won in Motion Design for ‘Paper War‘.

Also for Motion Design, Luis Barros and Bruno Marchand were given an Honourable Mention for ‘Cyclus‘.

And in the Interactive category, Salim Hassan, Arcelia Ocana, and JL Lum won for ‘Square One“, an interactive website aimed at sharing immigrant experiences with new immigrants.

‘This area of the country is occupied by immigrants,’ says Salim’s mentor, Mark Busse, of Industrial Brand. ‘Smart, talented people who, were it not for the kindness and support of their community, might struggle to find their way when they arrive in Canada. Square One can act like that community and help others find their way. The people here work hard. Very hard. So did the team behind Square One. So much so, that even though I was technically only Salim’s mentor, his dedicated team mates showed up to many of his mentor meetings.’

Congratulations to everyone!

Digital Design Student Wins a Salazar Award

Digital Design student Stefan Ramirez Perez recently won a 2009 Salazar Award for Web Design and Interactive Media with his short, “Venice.” Congrats, Stefan! The Salazar Awards honour and recognize “the cream of the crop” of each year’s graduating student designers.

Be sure to check out the works of Salazar Finalists Jorge R. Canedo Estrada – a current Digital Design student – and the Iran: A Nation of Bloggers team, including grads Aaron Chiesa, Hendy Sukarya, Lisa Temes, and Toru Kageyama. Their project has received a ton of attention online.

You might recognize Jorge’s and Stefan’s names as two of the winners of VFS/YouTube Scholarships. We knew you guys would be making a big splash!

Congrats to all!

Big Night at the Salazar Awards

Sindicato by Carlos Guimaraes Digital Design students and grads made a big showing at the Salazar Student Design Awards last night with a near-sweep of the Interactive & Motion Design category. It was the very first time VFS had work up for Salazar consideration. Impression: made.

Carlos Guimaraes took top prize in the category with his Angolan hip-hop motion project Sindicato. Stefan Belavy (Link.TV), Jeff Greenberg/Eric Wada (Orgasmic Brand Condoms), and Ryan Uhrich/Marcos (Boca) Ceravolo (Typographics) all picked up honourable mentions.

The awards are run by the BC Chapter of the Society of Graphic Designers of Canada, and our friends over at Emily Carr hosted the ceremony. After the awards, guests were treated to a presentation by design luminary Ian Grais.

salazar-awards2.jpg Winners of each of the three categories took home $500, and winners and honourable mentions alike will get their work featured in the GDC newsletter, distributed to design firms across Canada.

Unfortunately, Carlos was out of the country and couldn’t accept his award in person, but the rest of the gang were out in force.

Great work, everyone!

Pictured left to right: Marcos (Boca) Ceravolo, Stefan Belavy, Eric Wada, Ryan Uhrich, and Jeff Greenberg

VFS Festivals & Awards – 2007