A Fresh Start at Tribal DDB

Jane & Benson

A few months after our graduation in December 2011, we (Jane Haezer Saputra & Benson Chan) were fortunate enough to land internships at Tribal DDB. (Yay!!) As Information Architect and Design interns, respectively, we both have had surprisingly similar and yet also different experiences. Below are short recollections on our everyday experiences here at Tribal DDB.

Benson:

I enjoyed working as a Design Intern at Tribal DDB very much. I got the opportunity for Jan-March 2012. It’s really hard to believe that I can get a foot into the industry that fast. As a Design Intern, I helped the designers, art directors and creative directors to execute their ideas and do the production work. Sometimes, I even helped Karacters (Tribal DDB’s branding team) with some of their print work. I also had to participate in the client meetings, brainstorming sessions and with research. It is a lot of fun! Not only did I get to be involved in the design process, I also learnt a lot from the experience. Such as, the pixel perfect design (Much more strict than in VFS), answering to producers, timesheets (yes people! It’s important!!), and helping the art directors to realize their vision of the projects. My work involved BCLC, Hoopla, Canadian Tire, Canadian Tourism Commission, Subaru and Ausenco, and much more. After the internship, I was really happy to get hired as a Contract Junior Designer at Tribal DDB. I’m really thankful to VFS instructors for everything they have taught me up to this point.

Jane: